China Korea Thai

Default Banner

NCEA Examination System

New Zealand has a system of qualifications called National Certificate of Educational Achievement (NCEA).

This certificate has three academic levels at secondary schools:

Level 1 at year 11 (usually 15 years of age)

Level 2 at year 12 (16 years)

Level 3 at year 13 (17 years)

The examinations are a mixture of school administered tests that are monitored nationally and national set exams at the end of the year.

There are particular requirements for University Entrance, particularly achieving passes in English and mathematics.