China Korea Thai

Banner 1

Banner 2

Banner 3

Banner 4

Banner 5

Banner 6

Education system

New Zealand’s education system ranks amongst the best in the world. Anywhere that you choose to study will deliver consistently high quality education due to government regulations e.g a Code of Conduct and a national curriculum.


Ages 5 - 10 or Ages 5 - 12
Years 1 - 6 or Years 1 - 8

View The Schools


Ages 11 - 12
Years 7 and 8

View The Schools


Ages 13 - 18
Years 9 - 13

View The Schools

Language school

View The Schools

Public Tertiary

View The Schools

Private Training

View The Schools

We support and care for our students

We support and care for our students

We appreciate that being away from home is not easy for international students, so all schools provide a supportive and safe environment to ensure that students achieve their goals
and get the most out of their study abroad experience.

The Education (Pastoral Care of International Students) Code of Practice 2016 is a policy established under the Education Act 1989. The Code sets the standards of advice and care that must be given to international students while in New Zealand.

All Educational Tauranga institutions are signatories to this Code and pride themselves on delivering excellent care and support to their students while in New Zealand.

Read more about this policy here

Compulsory Schooling

Compulsory Schooling

Education in New Zealand begins atage five and primary school lasts foreight years. Often the last two years are at intermediate school (years 7 and 8). Secondary school starts at year 9 and lasts for five years, continuing until year 13.

The New Zealand school year runs from the beginning of February until mid-December and is divided into four terms.

There is a national compulsory curriculum for years 1-10. However in years 11-13, specialisation is possible as the students approach the end of their school years and are developing clear ideas about their future direction.

The New Zealand curriculum has eight learning areas: English, Mathematics, Social Studies, Physical Education and Health, The Arts, Technology and Maori Language.

In years 11-13, students can also elect to take subjects like Hospitality, Technology, Outdoor Pursuits, Music, Dance and Performing Arts. The specific subjects depend on the choices that the individual school is able to offer.

NCEA Examination System

NCEA Examination System

New Zealand has a system of qualifications called National Certificate of Educational Achievement (NCEA).

This certificate has three academic levels at secondary schools:

Level 1 at year 11 (usually 15 years of age)

Level 2 at year 12 (16 years)

Level 3 at year 13 (17 years)

The examinations are a mixture of school administered tests that are monitored by each school and national set exams at the end of the year.

There are requirements for University Entrance, particularly achieving passes in English and Mathematics.



Post compulsory education in New Zealand includes universities, polytechnics and institutes of technology, private training establishments and English language schools.

In the Tauranga region, you can gain a Bachelor’s degree or postgraduate qualification, or undertake vocational study. You can study a range of subjects including Business, IT, Engineering, Marine Sciences, Environmental Management, Construction and Applied Technology, Graphic Design, Sport and Recreation, Tourism, Early Childhood Teaching and more.